(Cliquez ici pour la version française)

Last update: 2013-09-26

SimpleNLG-EnFr 1.1

SimpleNLG-EnFr 1.1 is a bilingual English/French adaption of SimpleNLG v4.2.

SimpleNLG is a Java library for text surface realization in English. It was originally developed by Ehud Reiter, Albert Gatt and Dave Westwater, of Aberdeen University. Realization is the last step in the text generation process, and so SimpleNLG can be useful to programmers writing an application relating to text generation.

SimpleNLG-EnFr can realize text in both English and French in the same document. The French part covers practically all the grammar in Le français fondamental (1er degré) and has a 3871 entry lexicon covering the échelle orthographique Dubois Buyse.

The English grammatical coverage of SimpleNLG-EnFr is the same as that of SimpleNLG v4.2. Its French grammatical coverage is equivalent to its English one. Compared to version 1.0, version 1.1 of SimpleNLG-EnFr adds the following grammatical points to the French part:

A detailed manual in French is included.

The code had to be reorganized so as to separate what was specific to English from what was more generic, before adding the French grammar. The API is almost identical, though.

I gave a presentation in French for my fellow researchers of the RALI on July 27, 2011. I also made a brief unofficial presentation in English at the SimpleNLG User Group Meeting held at ENLG 2011.

I presented a poster about SimpleNLG-EnFr at ENLG-2013, an ACL-2013 workshop. A paper was published in the proceedings.

Click here to download version 1.1 of the SimpleNLG-EnFr distribution. It contains a JAR file, the French manual, the javadoc, the source code, and the tests. It is licensed under the Mozilla Public License Version 1.1.

SimpleNLG-EnFr 1.1 demo

I have made a SimpleNLG-EnFr demonstration graphical interface (GUI). It is downloadable as a JAR file containing the source code. It can generate simple sentences. Please note that SimpleNLG-EnFr can in reality generate more complex sentences and documents.

To launch the demo, put it in the directory containing the SimpleNLG-EnFr JAR file. Then type in the console in that same directory: java -jar demo-snlgEnFr.jar. You can now fill in the text boxes, adjust the options (like language) and click on Réaliser to realize a single sentence. The demo interface is only available in French for now.

Email me for any question on SimpleNLG-EnFr: Pierre-Luc Vaudry, vaudrypl (AT) iro.umontreal.ca

Return to main page

(Click here for English version)

Dernière mise à jour : 2015-01-30

SimpleNLG-EnFr 1.1

SimpleNLG-EnFr 1.1 est une adaptation bilingue anglais/français de SimpleNLG v4.2.

SimpleNLG est une bibliothèque Java pour la réalisation de surface de texte en anglais. Elle a été développée à l'origine par Ehud Reiter, Albert Gatt et Dave Westwater, de l'université d'Aberdeen. La réalisation est la dernière étape dans le processus de la génération de texte et SimpleNLG est donc utile aux programmeurs écrivant une application dans ce domaine.

SimpleNLG-EnFr peut réaliser du texte en anglais et en français dans le même document. La partie française couvre pratiquement toute la grammaire du Français fondamental (1er degré) et dispose d'un lexique de 3871 entrées couvrant l'échelle orthographique Dubois Buyse.

La couveture grammaticale de l'anglais de SimpleNLG-EnFr est la même que celle de SimpleNLG v4.2. Celle du français est équivalente à celle de l'anglais. Comparativement à la version 1.0, la version 1.1 de SimpleNLG-EnFr comporte en plus, pour le Français, les notions grammaticales suivantes :

SimpleNLG-EnFr comprend une documentation française détaillée.

Le code a dû être réorganisé pour pouvoir séparer ce qui était spécifique à l'anglais de ce qui était plus générique, avant d'ajouter la grammaire française. L'interface programmeur (API) est presque identique, cependant.

J'ai donné une présentation en français à mes collègues du RALI le 27 juillet 2011. J'ai aussi donné une brève présentation non officielle en anglais à la réunion des utilisateurs de SimpleNLG ("SimpleNLG User Group Meeting") ayant eu lieu à ENLG 2011.

J'ai présenté un poster sur SimpleNLG-EnFr à ENLG-2013, un atelier de ACL-2013. Un article a été publié dans les actes de la conférence.

La dernière version de SimpleNLG-EnFr se trouve désormais sur Github. Elle contient la documentation française, la javadoc, le code source et les tests. Elle est sous licence Mozilla Public License Version 1.1.

Démo de SimpleNLG-EnFr 1.1

J'ai fait une interface graphique (GUI) de démonstration pour SimpleNLG-EnFr. Cette démo est sous forme d'archive JAR et contient le code source. Elle permet de construire une phrase simple. Veuillez noter que SimpleNLG-EnFr permet en réalité de construire des phrases et des documents plus complexes.

Il suffit de remplir les boîtes de textes, d'ajuster les options telles que la langue et d'appuyer sur Réaliser.

Pour toute question sur SimpleNLG-EnFr, écrivez-moi : Pierre-Luc Vaudry, vaudrypl (AT) iro.umontreal.ca

Retour à la page principale